Father’s Day Request: Naughty Rhubarb Scones from Food52

We still have a plethora of rhubarb.  And my husband loves rhubarb.  So for Father’s Day I told him I’d make him whatever he wanted.  He said he wanted Rhubarb Scones.  I had made these once before and he stated that these were the best scones I had ever made.  (Wow…)   So that’s what he got.  The recipe is from Food52, but I modify it slightly by adding cinnamon and nutmeg.  And I don’t have vanilla sugar, so I used vanilla AND sugar…oh…and I ran out of heavy cream…so I used 1/2 & 1/2 mixed with yogurt…ok so I’ll give you my recipe with a link to Food52’s Naughty Rhubarb Scones.  How’s that sound?

INGREDIENTS

3-*6 stalks rhubarb cleaned and diced into 1/4 inch pieces

2 1/2 C Flour

1 Tbsp Baking Powder

1/2 tsp Salt

8 Tbsp cold butter *(you can freeze it and it’s easier to cut)

1/2 cup vanilla sugar or *1/2 cup sugar with 1 tsp vanilla (reserve 3 tbsp of sugar to toss rhubarb in)

2/3 to 3/4 cup heavy cream *or half yogurt, half half & half mixture

 

*INSTRUCTIONS:

Cut rhubarb into 1/4 inch cubes, toss with 3 Tbsp sugar

Mix flour, baking soda, salt with a whisk in a large bowl.

Cut butter stick into thirds then turn and cut again into thirds so that you have 9 tiny squares in each pat.  Slice and add to flour mixture.

Cut butter into four mixture until the butter and flour are well proportioned and it looks like little peas.  Or you can pulse this mixture in a food processor (about 5-8 pulses)

Add sugar to the mixture.  If using a food processor, gently pulse a couple of times.

Add rhubarb to the mix.  Pulse just a few times, or fold into flour mixture.

Add cream.  Start with 2/3 and add by tbsp if additional cream is needed to make a soft flaky dough.  It should not be sticky.

Form a ball with the dough and work it into a circle with your hands until it’s about 1/2 to 3/4 inch thick.

Cut into triangles with a dough cutter or a sharp knife.

Place separately on a cookie sheet.

Bake for 15 – 20 minutes or until golden brown on top.

*Changes I made to the recipe/instructions.  I didn’t follow the instructions on Food52 because I’ve made scones so many times I know what works for me.  So I starred that entire section.

PS.  Remember, Rhubarb leaves are poisonous to everyone, including dogs, ducks, chickens, humans, goats…do not feed rhubarb greens to any animal.  Compost them.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

