Poolside Nachos

I grew up with a pool, which in Iowa is not super common.  My mom lived by the pool.  She would be out there nursing it clean at the first sign of the first robin.  She would sit there from morning until sunset and after.  She loved to watch the little balls floating on the surface of the crystal clear water.   When I was a teenager, I would bring friends over and she would make us “poolside nachos” on a plastic plate of course (this was before the dreaded BPA’s were found in plastic.)

Days like today make me think of my mom.  I know she’s near us, and most likely laughing hysterically at my antics with my Kids.  Emm was in rare form today.  Everywhere from eating fresh yogurt straight from the jar – with her tongue and snotty nose, to trying to pour milk in her ear.  My son, though he’s sweet as ever, is forever fighting with me to eat anything remotely good for him.  Tonight he pretended to gag on quinoa.  Anything that isn’t macaroni and cheese or ham sandwich is totally taboo.  I’m not sure what he’s going to do when mom and dad start a paleo type diet.

Anyway, my mom made the simplest and most tasty nachos ever.

POOLSIDE NACHOS

Tortilla chips

Shredded cheese

Olives (black or green – or both)

Salsa (optional)

Sour Cream (optional)

That’s it.  She would spread the tortilla chips loosely on the plate, smother them with shredded cheese, sprinkle good old spanish olives with pimento on top, and microwave the whole lot for about 2 minutes or until the cheese was melted.

Once outside, we might dip it in salsa or sour cream or both, but mostly we just ate them as is.  Actually, we devoured them.  I still crave those simple nachos from time to time, and every time I do, I think of my mom.

2 thoughts on “Poolside Nachos

  1. well I do believe we will have to have nachos sometime soon now. 🙂 I often think of your mom Marcy. and I thinkyou are right…she is laughing her butt off at your kiddos. you know she is!

    • I know she is. I would appreciate a little supernatural help with the 2 hour long bed time routines we’ve had lately though. It’s Head in oven time tonight.

Leave a Reply

