Checking In

Just checking in to let you all know that I haven’t forgotten about writing my blog.  I’m actually having a very hard time acclimating to being a SAHM (Stay At Home Mom).  Which I understand is normal, but it’s been about 5 weeks and I still feel like I’ve got to rush to do anything.  Not to mention, I feel that I’m walking around like a zombie most of the time not knowing what to do with myself or my daughter.  Emme and I have been going to a motor skills group at one of our local Baby stores (Birth Baby & Beyond).  She definitely needs a friend to hang out with – other than me.  But I suppose it takes a little longer than that eh?  *sigh*.

Image

Kelly Rippa, the girls on The View, The Chew crew, and hulu and I have become very close friends.  I’ve made enough yogurt to milk a cow dry, I’ve discovered the miracle that is coconut oil, I’ve half-assed attempted a weekly meal plan, I’ve drank enough coffee to successfully bring back my teenage skin and the pimples that accompany it, I’ve decided to make a bi-monthly trek to Trader Joe’s, and I’ve never had a filthier house.  I’ve lost track of what day it is.  I’ve fallen in love with fake eyelashes.  I’ve not worn a pair of jeans in…I don’t remember when since I now live in yoga pants.  Unfortunately, I only own one pair…I often forget the last time I changed my underwear, which was probably the last time I showered, which was…well, I’m not really sure when that was.

Image

So you see, I am not acclimated well at-all.  I don’t know how other moms do it.  I spend half my day getting my 6 year old ready for school, and consequently, I have to wake my 2 year old and get her “ready” as well.  The rest of my morning is consumed by chasing ducks, making some kind of edible-ish breakfast for my daughter, drinking almost a half pot of coffee – that has turned cold, thinking about putting dishes away – sometimes actually doing it, most times not, playing on/fighting on facebook, and watching  television.  My morning ends by usually failing to convince Emme to nap or bathe or eat or do anything I ask her to do.  Mostly just because I’ve asked her to do it rather than her deciding to do it on her own.

Image

I only speak for myself.  Don’t get me wrong, I can take some fabulous photos that make you THINK my life is perfect and my kids are wonderful and I make everything from scratch.  The truth is that I am a real mom with a real life and a really nice camera.  My kids eat good homemade good for them food – most of the time.  They eat their vegetables – sometimes.  But they also have macaroni and cheese (but only Kraft because those generics are nasty) and McDonald’s once in a while.  I DO make a lot of things, and I DO use coconut oil and castile soap.  But I also use vegetable oil and soft soap.  Moderation – in everything – is the key to my life.

There are some parents who can stay home and create that nurturing and enriching environment where their children thrive and succeed.  Some parents are flawless in their execution of their day.  Food in the crock pot before everyone is awake, clean house while children are napping, enriching activities in science, lunch full of nutritious foods.  Their children will look back and say “My childhood was amazing!”  I’m afraid my children will look back on these days when I’m home and think “My mom was a wreck, hair askew, the same yoga pants for a week, took me to school in her pajamas which often times was the same yoga pants she wore all week long – now that I think of it, does she ever take those yoga pants off?”

On that note, I’m going to go color my hair and take a shower before I venture out for my very exciting outing to Target where I will pick up some disposable diapers (ugh), some wipes (ugh), and a few other things that now I’ve completely forgotten I needed.

One thought on “Checking In

  1. Love this! I too have never quite adapted to stay at home momness. I thinking working full time is easier. I also live in yoga pants and unfortunately……cannot cook AT ALL. I also rarely do my hair or wear make up…….

Leave a Reply

