Lazy(ish) Sunday

Ok that’s kind of a misnomer. This weekend was dedicated to fixing up a couple of rooms in our basement so I had some place to groom and bathe my dogs. And given that my toy poodle looks a bit like a homeless snowball, we figure it’s about time. Well that, and the fact that I had three nervous breakdowns this week. One for the basement, one for my daughter’s bedroom (which I still won’t enter except to change a diaper,) and one for my son’s room.

But today the sun is out, it is beautiful with a little chill in the air, but significantly less wind. So in celebration of this beautiful day, I’m being productive-ish. I’ve got milk warming in the crock pot for my yogurt, I’ve sort of fixed my snot-or semen soap as my husband likes to call it. Here is the original recipe, the one I should have followed. But you know, I’m a real kind of gal. I’m totally willing to post about my mistakes as much as my successes. Which are many, so I’m pick and choosing…heh.

This is a pretty random post, with a few pictures showing you how I *hopefully* saved my soap, but also just tossing out some photos of my day.

SAVING THE SOAP

As you can see, this soap turned out rather gross. It leaves a string that rivals any two year old. It’s thick, it doesn’t emulsify much when water is added, and unfortunately, it got a whole lot thicker while sitting in the gallon jug for a couple of months. Which coincidentally, made it very difficult to pour. Super fun. I kinda smooshed the jug and got out a lot of frustration at the same time.

I added almost another whole gallon of hot water straight from the tap to the pot, then I went at it with my immersion blender. I figured I can’t go wrong, right? I’ve got nothing to lose at this point. Ok, well I had little over $4 to lose. But still. If you don’t have an immersion blender, I highly suggest you invest in one. I can’t remember how much I paid for mine, but I know I’ve seen them anywhere from $20 to $60 at Target. My guess is that you don’t really need to spend a lot on one unless you plan to use it all-the-time. But it does come in handy when you really need it. And of course, I like to turn to Cooks Illustrated or America’s Test Kitchen for suggestions on most of my tools.

It’s a good thing this is soap, because it’s really a messy project putting the soap into the containers. I suggest you wait until the suds have reduced a little before actually pouring it into the jugs. Because it’s soap, cleanup is little more than a quick rinse. WIN!

So while I was working on this, Emmeline decided she was thirsty. She had been playing in the basement with her kitchen set. I don’t know where she would have gotten this idea from, but she grabbed her little toy wine glass and told me she wanted something…I said “Juice?” “No.” She said. “iine…” HUH? “You want wine?” “Yah.” oh boy. So I filled her glass with “wine” (which was actually blueberry iced tea…but don’t tell her that.) She likes to get her drink on early in the morning I guess.

Then she asked for more.

Meanwhile, Brighton was in his usual weekend garb, was playing Lego Star Wars. Except this time, with a “duck face” which I should have NEVER told him he was doing. Because now he thinks this is funny and every picture for the next 5 months will probably include the duck face. Want some botox with that?

And finally, there’s the husband. Who is dutifully cutting twice and measuring once. Bless him.

Measuring once

Cutting twice

I am happy to report that thus far, today is a win win. I’m relaxed, not having any meltdowns just yet, my hair is not combed, I’m not showered, I’m wearing a happy hour t-shirt nightgown still – complete with yoga pants that have never experienced yoga, and I’ve got a few more things on the agenda today. Right after I make these children lunch. Thank you Kraft Mac N Cheese.

This is a personal blog copyright to Eat Local Iowa & Bipedal Madness. All the photos on these sites, unless otherwise noted, are our personal property. Please don’t steal them. If you wish to use them, please give us some credit and a link back to this website, K? k. Visit us on facebook at Eat Local Iowa or Bipedal Madness. Oh, and PS. Please feel free to promote this website/post on Pinterest.

4 thoughts on “Lazy(ish) Sunday

  1. Omg, Marcy I love Emme. That had me cackling so loud the kids thought a hyena had invaded our home. I know so many people who are making their own soap these days. Is that the new thing? Or is it the old thing and I just missed out as usual? Love the post. You rock those yoga-free yoga pants girl!

    • She was pretty funny! She spilled it too, just like a proper wineo. I don’t know if it’s new or not either…I’m new to it, so if that helps?

  2. I like your shout-out to America’s Test Kitchen recommendations. Just this morning a bought a Dutch oven they recommended. xoxo

    • Did you get the tramontina? It took me forever to find one! After they reviewed it, they sold out of every target and Walmart store. Crazy, eh? I love ATK! CK can be kind of stuffy, but I love what he’s done.

Leave a Reply

