Homemade Noodles

Ever wanted those chewy, thick, hearty noodles you remember from your childhood?  Those noodles that Auntie or Grandma or Mom used to make?  Yeah, me too.  My Aunt Joyce used to make chicken and noodles every Christmas Eve.  I looked forward to it every single year.  I remember fondly the thick, chewy noodles mixed with the shredded chicken, mmmm…I can almost taste it right now.

So, I decided to make my own.  I called up my Aunt Sally, who is also a fantastic cook and knows a lot of the old recipes from her family’s history in the restaurant business.  She walked me through first, then my friend David calmed my fears about not letting the noodles completely dry out before using them.  Actually, what he said was, and I almost quote (but for all intents and purposes, I will use quotation marks) “You don’t have to dry them, the texture might be a little funky, but for your family, who effin’ (he said the actual word…) cares?  They won’t notice the difference and why take the time?”  So I said OK.  I am drying this batch because I’m not using them tonight as I needed to use up some duck eggs in the fridge.  I hate to let them go to waste after Hagrid worked so hard to drop them and Rio fought so hard to keep them.

Image

Here’s the Recipe

HOMEMADE EGG NOODLES

2 1/2 Cups of flour

Pinch of Salt

2 eggs – beaten (if using duck eggs, use the equivalent of chicken eggs.  1 duck egg = 1 large chicken egg in baking)

1/2 Cup Milk (maybe substitute whey?)

1 Tbsp Butter – melted and cooled

Extra flour for the counter

Whisk the flour and salt together in a medium bowl.

With a Kitchen Aid Mixer

With the whisk attachment on a Kitchen Aid mixer, beat together the Eggs, milk, and cooled melted butter in a large bowl or in a kitchen aid bowl if you’re using one to mix and knead the dough.

ImageSwitch to the dough hook attachment

Slowly add the flour to the egg mixture and stir until combined.  Slowly adjust the speed until the dough is thoroughly mixed.  Let it slap around in the bowl for about 3-4 minutes or until the dough looks relatively smooth.  You may have to increase the speed once the dough is combined to get it to loosen up off the hook.

Image

Toss some flour on the counter, and knead/fold the dough again 5-6 times.

Image

_________________________

Not using a Kitchen Aid mixer
Whisk the flour and salt together in a medium bowl

In a separate large bowl, whisk the egg, milk, and cooled melted butter.

Slowly add the flour to the egg mixture and with a rubber spatula, gently fold in the flour to the egg mixture and continue to fold until all the flour is incorporated and you can loosen the dough from the pan.

Toss some flour onto the counter top and knead the dough until it’s smooth and slightly tough.

_____________________

Form a ball with your dough, and with a rolling pin, roll your dough out to about 1/2 inch.  I prefer my noodles very rustic, so I don’t care if they’re all the same length, so I just leave whatever organic shape the rolling pin leaves them.  But if you want, you can cut it into a square.

Image

Using a knife or a dough cutter, cut your noodles in about 1/4 to 1/2 inch wide strips.  Doesn’t really matter, so long as the strips are about equal in width so they all cook the same.  If you have minions, they can help do the hard work and cut.

Image

ImageHere is where a noodle dryer would come in really handy.  But I don’t have one.  So I just laid them out on a cookie sheet to dry.  For how long?  I dunno, a couple hours.  You might want to turn them over after a while too.  One dry, I plan to seal these in my food saver and freeze for use later.

These noodles make a great addition to light soups like beef or chicken noodle soup.  They add some heartiness to an otherwise pretty brothy soup.  This is one of the most useful of basic items to learn to make.  Once you do it, you won’t forget.  This recipe can be tweaked for other kinds of pasta as well.

Image

Enjoy the memories

5 thoughts on “Homemade Noodles

  1. Thanks for the recipe and easy to follow tutorial. My grandma makes noodles like this for Easter, Thanksgiving, and Christmas. They’re the first thing I always put on my plate.

  2. Love the minions comment! We make noodles here too. You can dry them in the oven on low too. 200* for ten minutes or so, flipping halfway tends to be good for ours.

  3. Pingback: If This is Wrong, I Don’t Wanna Be Right « Bipedal Madness

Leave a Reply

