Adventures As a New SAHM (Stay At Home Mom)

Remember this post?  You know, the one where I blathered on about my crazy day and couldn’t be a SAHM or a WAHM?  Well, this week I ate my words.  Ate them all up and spit them out.  Along with some expletives.

This was my first week as an official SAHM after leaving my job of 8 years.  Granted, it was a part time gig, but still, I got out of the house three days a week.  I can’t claim this past week as an example of what it will be like for many reasons.  One, we’re riding on our income tax refund and my last paycheck.  Two, I have to get a hella lot more organized or I’m going to drive myself MAD.  Three, I need to get over this feeling of guilt and obligation that I need to have the house clean, the kids’ rooms spotless, a full lunch, and have dinner ready or at least on the way.  I don’t mind doing these things, but I am having a hard time accepting that I need to get into a routine or a schedule before I count myself as a failure.  Next week I plan to tackle the kids’ closets.  So if you don’t hear from me in a week, call the authorities.  God only knows what is lurking in there…

So my accomplishments this week included making 2 batches of sourdough, some homemade yogurt, several batches of ricotta, I attempted to recall some of my Norwegian roots with some failed brunost from leftover whey (from this recipe – see the email as to why I call it brunost instead of gjetost,) and finally I ended the week with my beer cheese potato soup.  I can’t recall where I got the recipe, but I’m thankful for it.  And I’m also thankful for facebook timeline so I could find it again!

Here is the recipe.

Oh…before I give you the recipe, this is not the kind of recipe you want to take to someone who’s just had their arteries cleaned.  And it includes American processed cheese food…in the form of cheese whiz or velveeta.  I’m sure you can substitute good old cheddar, and I might try that next time.  But this is the original recipe and I’ll try cheddar next time around.

Beer Cheese Soup

Ingredients:

Bacon (1/2 to 1 lb preferably thick cut)

6-9 sm to medium Potatoes (yukon or red works best, but don’t use russet – too fluffy)

1 small onion

carrots (about 1 1/2 cups)

peppers (red, yellow, or orange) – optional

Celery (1-2 ribs)

1 can or bottle of beer – whatever kind you like

2 (15 oz) cans of chicken broth

Heavy Cream or Half and Half

Cheese Whiz

Dice the first 6 ingredients into 1/2 inch pieces or there abouts. (I use baby carrots and just slice them on the round)  Dice the potatoes first and put them into a pot with ice water.  This removes the starch so the cook up faster.

Image

In a dutch oven or stock pot, fry up the bacon slowly, until done to your specifications (whether you like it soft or crunchy) drain the grease (or most of it – save about 2-3 Tbsp to cook your onions and other veggies) and set bacon aside.

Image

Add approximately 2-3 tbsp bacon grease, add onions, and cook up the onions until carmelized. Add carrots and other vegetables (except potatoes) and cook until semi soft.  Add the bacon

Image

Add the chicken broth (you can also substitute whey, beef broth, or vegetable broth) and stir until all the bacon-y bits on the bottom are scooped up. Add potatoes and slowly add beer. Stir gently until mixed. Allow to cook at a slow rolling boil until potatoes are soft.

Image

Reduce heat and SLOWLY add cheese whiz. Add cream and stir until mixed.

Image

Should take about 1 1/2 hours from start to finish depending on how big you cut the vegetables.  Goes great with a homemade sourdough or french bread.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

