Auroras and Flares and Storms, OH MY!

I’ve been hearing a lot recently about the Solar Flares, or “Sun Storms” lately.  Thanks to the magnetic field,  the earth’s northern hemisphere was able to see Auroras, including Iowa.  I’ve even heard as far south as Missouri and Northern Florida.   According to National Geographic and some other really smart people (interviewed on NPR,) we are still in the midst of the solar storms.   The flares can apparently cause quite a ruckus in the atmosphere.  These storms can disrupt GPS signals (ah, I can never GET a good GPS signal, so no love lost there,) interrupt communication transmissions, “cripple satellites” and “knock out power grids.”  Not to mention the random space crap (oh you know, like old satellites, rockets, things too big to be turned to dust upon re-entry…) can fall out of the sky and bonk you on your head.  It’s happened.  I heard a story on NPR about it.  OK, it was her shoulder, but it could have been her head.  Lottie Williams of Tulsa was minding her own business, walking along one morning and BAM!  A piece of space junk falls and hits her on the shoulder.  And, OK, this wasn’t due to sun storms, this was random.  But sun storms can cause the same phenomena. Mostly, sun storms just cause all kinds of mess for anything technological.

January 2012 Aurora Borealis photo from National Geographic

Solar Flare Photo from National Geographic

***

Does this freak anyone else out?  No?  Not even a little?  Well keep reading.

But first, let me just interject in this run on, blundering, blabbering paragraph, a tid-bit of information about me.  A disclaimer, if you will.  I am a cross between down home, experimental homesteading, like-to-make-my-own-crap kind of gal, mostly natural-breastfeeding-essential oil toting, baby-wearing, attachment parenting, semi-science-but-not-blood-and-guts-science geek, paranormal obsessed I-believe-there-are-ghosts, spirits, and-time-space-continuum-is-real, and I trust the natural world much more than the manufactured world- kind of person.  I kind of “get” how all of this stuff goes together in a VERY broad and self-depreciating-ly ignorant way.  I mean, I know that when there’s a full moon, my children are nuts and my daughter doesn’t sleep.  I know that when there is change in the atmosphere, whether it be from a storm or major shift in pressure, I get antsy, anxious, stressed, discombobulated, and sometimes headaches.  I also know that it SEEMS cats have more episodes of idiopathic cystitis (inflammation of the urinary bladder) during times of drastic atmospheric changes.  But I digress.  You see where I’m going here?  OK.  Read on.

***

Last year around this time, there were solar flares starting up and freaking people out.   I was no different.  Except I don’t necessarily think the world is going to end in 2012, I do believe it will be a big shift somehow.  And these solar flares and strange and dramatic weather freaks people out.  Well, during the flares of February 2011, I woke in the middle of the night like I often do, and around 2:30 AM, I hear random numbers being read as if over a radio.  Strange.  But I fall asleep thinking, oh I don’t know, maybe there was someone outside of our rural home discussing topography at 2:30 AM.  So I went back to sleep.

The next morning, about the same time, I woke again, hearing the same thing, then I heard as clear as day “the eagle has landed.”  Now, I’m not a history buff.  I know generalizations of things that happened in my past, but I don’t get down to the nitty gritty detail.  So because Facebook is my go-to first thing in the morning, I posted my experience on my status.  Thanks to Facebook timeline and the LAST HOUR I finally found the post with comments!!  I removed last names and pictures to protect the innocent.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Marcy Ok about this solar flair thing. For 2 nights in a row now, at about 3 am I have heard a mans voice. Wednesday night I can’t remember what he said. But lastnight I heard VERY CLEARLY “the eagle has landed”. Now, I was fever free lastnight, and sure, I’m sleep deprived, but…

February 18, 2011 at 7:02am via mobile

    • KimberlyIt’s ok marcy…some mysterious man’s voice ALWAYS says that right before an eagle lands somewhere…its just some weird unexplainable phenomena…they are just that cool…;)

      February 18, 2011 at 7:51am · Unlike · 1
    • MarcyDon’t laugh at me, but I did email someone in New England who is watching this and asked if it was possible to transmit radio transmissions through smart phones during the flare. He said he hadn’t heard of anything but he’d keep it in mind as it’s still going on.

      February 18, 2011 at 8:10am · Like · 1
    • Marcy

      The email response…kind of disappointing…”I’m not totally sure about this, but cell phones, like FM radio, works through “line of sight” transmission of signals, not by bouncing radio waves off the ionosphere at high levels of the atmosphere. So, I’d not expect the effects of a solar flare directly producing anything like what you describe. It may be that your cell provider has an intermediary in its signals via satellite, which could be affected, but in that case the effect would be wide spread, not highly localized. Unless you find via news media or otherwise that your experience is not unique, I’d forget about the influence of solar storms. If wide spread, I’ll try to get some answers from experts in the field. “
      February 18, 2011 at 8:19am · Like
    • MarcyHow do I know if it’s highly localized? I dunno if someone else experienced it. And there is no one else that lives around me. That’s it. I’m going crazy. I knew it. This fever and subsequent sinus infection has fried my brains.

      February 18, 2011 at 8:20am · Like · 1
    • SteveSorry, I will try and be more quiet tonight

      February 18, 2011 at 8:20am · Unlike · 1
    • MarcyAnd my children are making me mad!! (like as in mad scientist mad)

      February 18, 2011 at 8:21am · Like
    • MarcyAnd I don’t know if it was my phone, I was just assuming. The monitors aren’t plugged in, but I do have a radio that is…

      February 18, 2011 at 8:22am · Like
    • SteveMaybe you got a ghost stalking you

      February 18, 2011 at 8:23am · Like
    • Scott wow marcy…your hearing stuff from back in time…1969 Apollo 11.

      February 18, 2011 at 8:23am · Like
    • MarcyOk tonight I will ask for a sign…something other than “the eagle has landed”

      February 18, 2011 at 8:24am · Like
    • MarcyOMFG I am going crazy!!!!!!

      February 18, 2011 at 8:24am · Like
    • SteveYeah, that’s what he said, if your gullible enough to believe that whole moon landing thing

      February 18, 2011 at 8:25am · Like · 1
    • MarcyWell I do now Steve!

      February 18, 2011 at 8:38am · Like
    • Marcy OK Scott, I just found it and listened to the transmission. THAT IS WHAT I HEARD! I’m freaking out. And what I heard the night before was something akin to what they were saying before. Just numbers and such.

      February 18, 2011 at 8:52am · Like
    • Jenwow marcy…hmmm well 3 am is dead time..ya know when the ghosts and evil spirits come out…but u have a new house so no one died in it…..did u build on some cemetery?

      February 18, 2011 at 9:47am · Like
    • MarcyYeah, I know. And no we didn’t build on a cemetary but did find some dog bones when I was putting my hosta bed in.

      February 18, 2011 at 9:55am · Like
    • Jenawwwwww……well????l unless the dog can talk

      February 18, 2011 at 9:57am · Like
    • MarcyOr it wasn’t actually a dog…

      February 18, 2011 at 9:58am · Like
    • Jenoooooooh crap…i didnt even think about that

      February 18, 2011 at 10:01am · Like
    • AndrewIt was me saying it in my sleep.

      February 18, 2011 at 11:44am · Like
    • SusanKEEP CALM AND MOVE ON! 🙂

      February 18, 2011 at 12:01pm · Like
    • TammyMarcy, you are not alone 🙂 I’ve been feeling a little like a crazy scientist too in the past few days, Full moon and solar flares… plus life stresses, upheavals in Egypt/Mideast and protests in Wisconsin, I’m hoping protests here in FL too, time to oust or whacked out governor! I hear ya sister… the eagle has landed indeed!

      February 18, 2011 at 12:48pm ·Like

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So there ya have it.  This is exactly what I heard.  Other than hearing “The Eagle has landed” it was pretty boring and nondescript.  So I wrote a note to some super smart space people in New England (their response is included in the facebook thread) asking about whether or not these transmissions can be …uh…transmitted through my phone.  Or, if they could possibly, maybe, even a little bit have been “blasted” down from space.  I’m sure they spent a good deal of time laughing at me before they actually responded telling me in not so many words that I was nuts.

So in a nutshell, I guess this post is about solar flares?  And how it relates to us as humans?  Yeah, that’s what it’s about.  Whether we believe it or not, we are affected by what goes on around us on the earth, one way or another.  So be good to her.  Because like every mother, she brought you into this world, she can take you out.  (thanks Bill Cosby.)

***

Here are some cool links that I read to prepare for this post.  And to properly amaze and freak-you-the-eff-out.

I can’t remember what this link was about and I’m too afraid to go back and look at it to find out.  Click if you dare.  It’s from NASA.

Secret lives of solar flares” – sounds like a reality show.  Or more appropriately, because it’s ACTUALLY REAL, a reality book.

“Solar storm engulfs the earth” O_O No explanation needed.

Looped image from Wired.com of the 2011 solar flares

Seriously, check out the AWESOME aurora photos from National Geographic.  AMAZING!

One thought on “Auroras and Flares and Storms, OH MY!

  1. Somebody essentially lend a hand to make severely articles I’d state. That is the very first time I frequented your website page and to this point? I surprised with the analysis you made to make this actual publish incredible. Fantastic job!

Leave a Reply

