Making Hand Soap

UPDATE 1.26.12:

I have to say, I’m kind of disappointed in this soap. I put some in a hand soap container last night and it seemed to have gelled up even more in the gallons jug. Again, I didn’t read things, and I am thinking that perhaps I maybe probably should have read the exact ingredients in the dr Bronners bar soap. I’m wondering if there was already vegetable glycerin in it? Anyway, this recipe will be tweaked and recorded!

Who knew how easy it would be to make homemade hand soap?

You know, that liquid stuff you’re smelling for on your kids’ hands after they’ve been told to wash them? You know you do it.

So I originally started with this recipe from The Farmer’s Nest Blog. It was my original intention to follow the directions verbatim. But naturally, I didn’t actually read the recipe closely.

Her recipe is as follows:

  • 8 oz bar of soap
  • 1 gallon water
  • 2 Tbp liquid glycerin (can be found in the pharmacy by the band aids)

But what I didn’t realize is that the bar of Dr. Bronner’s 18 in 1 bar I picked up was a 5 oz bar. So I had to make a few modifications. (special thanks to my husband for doing the math. I would have never gotten the 5/8 calculation out of the recipe…)

Here’s the modified recipe:

  • 1 – 5 oz bar of soap
  • 10 cups of water
  • 3/4 Tbsp liquid glycerin (can be found in the pharmacy by the bandaids)

Here’s what you do:

  • Shred the bar of soap with either a cheese grater or a food processor. (if you’re using a food processor, I’d chop the bar up once again just so it melts more quickly)
  • Add the 10 cups of water to a heavy bottom pan.
  • Add the shredded soap and liquid glycerin to the pan.
  • Heat on medium heat and stir until the soap is dissolved.
  • Once the soap is dissolved, set it on the back burner for 10-12 hours until it becomes thick.

Now, if you like liquid castile soap, I am guessing you can tweak this recipe a bit more and use the full gallon of water, sans the glycerin-or much less glycerin. But I don’t know that for a fact, I will try it next time.

START UP Cost Analysis (because my husband is an auditor)

1 bar of Dr. Bronners Castile Soap $4.96

6 oz Bottle of Liquid Glycerin $6.96 (ish)

Cheese Grater from the dollar store $1

_________________________________

Total $ $12.92

So. There are 2 Tbsp per 1 fluid ounce. The liquid glycerin is approximately $1.16 per ounce. We used 3/4 Tbsp, so that equals $.87.

For ten cups of soap, (which is 5/8 of a gallon – or 80 fluid ounces) I spent approximately $5.83.

For comparison, a 32 ounce bottle of Dr. Bronners 18 in 1 retails at Target for 16.99. And there are 128 ounces in a gallon. I’ll let you do the math on that one.

Here are the results I achieved

:
I woke this morning to a beautifully thick looking white substance in my pan. However, when I went to mix it, it was like a thick gelatinous glob of snot. Good smelling snot, but snot. Mostly on the top. Once I moved it around a bit, i found that the bottom was more liquid, so following the farmer’s instructions, I added a bit more water, and beat the hell out of it with my hand mixer. Which yielded slightly less snot like results. And that bit that I dropped on my counter more resembled dog vomit…but it smells great!

20120125-114553.jpg

20120125-114713.jpg

20120125-114741.jpg

20120125-114815.jpg

20120125-114852.jpg

20120125-114956.jpg

3 thoughts on “Making Hand Soap

  1. and then when I put this in my soap foamer thing…well this will last a short lifetime! Thanks for passing it along Marcy.

  2. If you put it in yor foam dispenser, I might leave out the glycerin. It might clog your foaming dispenser. Or cut it dramatically. Or maybe add a coconut or jojoba oil?

    • I have to say, I’m kind of disappointed in this soap. I put some in a hand soap container last night and it seemed to have gelled up even more in the gallons jug. Again, I didn’t read things, and I am thinking that perhaps I maybe probably should have read the exact ingredients in the dr Bronners bar soap. I’m wondering if there was already vegetable glycerin in it? Anyway, this recipe will be tweaked and recorded!

Leave a Reply

