Homemade Dishwasher Soap for The Cheap (And Smart)

Thanks to my wonderful chiropractor, my neck is about 60% better.  I still have some soreness in the muscles, but am FINALLY able to move my head about.  So to celebrate, I decided to make some dishwasher soap.  Ok, for real.  I am almost out so I figured now was as good a time as any.  And it literally took me 5 minutes.  (sans the 10 minute tantrum my little girl had because I wouldn’t let her stir anymore because she was flinging borax all over the place.  But I digress…)

Dishwasher Soap Ingredients

Here’s the recipe:

1 Cup Borax

1 Cup Washing Soda

1/2 Cup Epsom Salts

(My husband preferred this to kosher salts because he felt it would be less corrosive to the metals in the dishwasher)

1/2 Cup Citric Acid

(you can find this in the canning aisle sometimes called “Fresh Fruit” or at a

bulk distributer)

Mix it together, put it in a container, use 1

Tbsp per load. 

Add distilled white vinegar to your rinse aid drawer to remove any soap

build up or spots.

BadaBingBadaBoom.  Ya gots some dishwasher soap.

3 thoughts on “Homemade Dishwasher Soap for The Cheap (And Smart)

Leave a Reply

