The Knucklecracker Ballet

As I was savoring the 2 hour 45 minute nap my daughter was taking, I decided to watch NYC Ballet Co’s Nutcracker Suite at Lincoln Center on PBS.  Every year, about this time, I have a little time to sit and watch the tele, and every single year, I catch the nutcracker.  Perhaps it’s just because it’s Always.On.  But I digress.  I was feeling pretty high and mighty in my “happy hour” sparkly wine t-shirt nighty sans bra, yoga pants, and clean but frizzy-no product hair, knitting (mostly) and snacking on goat cheese with cranberries and ritz crackers when my husband came out and informed me that Brighton told him I was watching the Knucklecracker.

Perfect.

 

Part 2:  After the wine

Today has been more of a knuckle dragger, than a knuckle cracker…but even so, I found a new way last night of sprucing up a bottle of wine that you think is a bit dodgy or that you don’t really care for.  It works with reds or whites, preferably Riesling for white and shiraz or malbec, but any sweeter wine will do that you would use for a mulled wine.

I don’t know about you, but I get awfully sick of adding 7up or sprite to a wine I am not fond of but don’t want to waste.  Though that’s great in the summertime, in the winter, I usually want something a little more…oh…I dunno, seasoned I guess.  So someone on my facebook page who has yet to come forward, a while back posted that she added some mulling spices to a bottle of reisling and put it in the fridge.  So I tried it.  yummy!!

I put 5-6 whole cloves and 1 approximately 3 1/2 inch cinnamon stick into a bottle of funf 5 Riesling, put it in the fridge, forgot about it, had a glass lastnight and it was delightful!!  Still chilled, but has the “warmth” of the cinnamon and cloves. I suppose you could grind up a little nutmeg or all spice if you wanted.  Or add some cranberries…the possibilities are endless!  And you certainly don’t have to warm it if you don’t want.  Especially with a Riesling, I wouldn’t.  I would, however, add a straining pourer for obvious reasons 🙂

Leave a Reply

