Sweet Baby Jesus on a Spatula

Let’s get real here about what Christmas is like at the O house.  It ain’t pretty, it’s expensive, it’s Imageexcessive, it’s plastic, pvc, some wood, some wool, but mostly it’s kinda like this picture. 

From December 9 through December 24th every year since we’ve had children, this has been the most infuriating, excruciating, stressful, exciting time in our year.  It’s been very difficult to get into the Holiday Spirit this year especially.  I have my suspicions as to why.

I have never truly understood this song, the 12 pains of Christmas, until the last couple of years.  I start with good intentions:

November 10: I’m going to make all our gifts this year

December 1:  I’m going to buy all handmade gifts this year

December 3:  I’m going to buy mostly handmade gifts this year

December 5:  I’m going to buy at least half handmade gifts this year

December 6:  I’m going to buy at least one handmade gift this year

December 10:  Give me the target ad, the kmart ad, the Bed Bath and Beyond ad.

December 11: At least we bought items that were made in the USA.  We are over our $65 quota of Made in the USA gifts this year. 

December 12: OMG what have we done?  Buyers remorse setting in

 

So next year, handmade gifts for sure.  i’m starting in January.

One thought on “Sweet Baby Jesus on a Spatula

Leave a Reply

